The Vincent du Vigneaud Award

The Vincent du Vigneaud Awards recognize outstanding achievement in peptide research at mid-career. The du Vigneaud Awards are sponsored by Bachem, and are awarded to two deserving recipients at the biennial American Peptide Symposia.

The Vincent du Vigneaud Award Recipients

2019 Annette Beck-Sickinger Leipzig University
2019 Hiroaki Suga The University of Tokyo
2017 Ronald Raines University of Wisconsin at Madison
2017 Wilfred van der Donk University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
2015 Jean Chmielewski Purdue University
2015 David Craik University of Queensland
2013 Michael Chorev Harvard Medical School
2013 Kit Sang Lam University of California, Davis School of Medicine
2011 Fernando Albericio University of Barcelona
2011 Morten Meldal Carlsberg Laboratory, Copenhagen
2010 Phil Dawson Scripps Research Institute
2010 Resa Ghadiri Scripps Research Institute
2008 Jeffery W. Kelly Scripps Research Institute
2008 Tom W. Muir Rockefeller University
2006 Samuel H. Gellman University of Wisconsin
2006 Barbara Imperiali Massachusetts Institute of Technology
2004 Stephen B.H. Kent University of Chicago
2004 Dieter Seebach Swiss Federal Institute of Technology, Zurich
2002 Robert Hodges School of Medicine, University of Colorado
2002 Horst Kessler Technical University of Munich
2000 Charles M. Deber University of Toronto
2000 Richard A. Houghten Torrey Pines Institute for Molecular Studies
1998 Peter W. Schiller Clinical Research Institute of Montreal
1998 James A. Wells Genentech, Inc
1996 Arthur M. Felix Hoffmann-La Roche, Inc.
1996 Richard G. Hiskey University of North Carolina
1994 George Barany University of Minnesota, Minneapolis
1994 Garland R. Marshall Washington University Medical School
1992 Isabella L. Karle Naval Research Laboratory
1992 Wylie W. Vale The Salk Institute for Biological Studies
1990 Daniel H. Rich University of Wisconsin-Madison
1990 Jean E. Rivier The Salk Institute for Biological Studies
1988 William F. De Grado DuPont Central Research
1988 Tomi K. Sawyer The Upjohn Company
1986 Roger M. Freidinger Merck Sharpe & Dohme
1986 Michael Rosenblatt Massachusetts General Hospital
1986 James P. Tam The Rockefeller University
1984 Betty Sue Eipper The Johns Hopkins University
1984 Lila M. Gierasch University of Delaware
1984 Richard E. Mains The Johns Hopkins University

Vincent du Vigneaud

Vincent du Vigneaud

Vincent du Vigneaud, May 18, 1901 – December 11, 1978, was an American biochemist. He won the 1955 Nobel Prize in Chemistry "for his work on biochemically important sulphur compounds, especially for the first synthesis of a polypeptide hormone," a reference to his work on the cyclic peptide oxytocin.

Award Sponsor

Bachem Logo

Bachem is a contract manufacturing organization headquartered in Bubendorf, Switzerland, specializing in the manufacturing of peptides and complex organic molecules as active pharmaceutical ingredients. In addition, biochemicals for research purposes and manufacturing processes are developed.

The firm provides a number of products and services to the pharmaceutical and life science industries, including organic fine and performance chemicals, custom manufacturing of biopharmaceuticals, chemical synthesis capabilities and new chemical entities, and services for the bioscience sector.