The Society's Journal Membership Services APS Symposia 25th APS Symposium
About APS
Presidents of the American Peptide Society
Member Benefits
Current News
The Society's Journal
Photo Gallery
APS Calendar
Worldwide Events
In Memoriam
Contact Us
Awards Return to Awards

The R. Bruce Merrifield Award

Endowed by Dr. Rao Makineni (1997)

The Merrifield Award, presented at the biennial symposia, recognizes the lifetime achievement of a peptide scientist, whose work exemplifies the highest level of scientific creativity.

2017 Charles Deber University of Toronto, Hospital for Sick Children
Robert Hodges University of Colorado, Denver
2015 Horst Kessler TU München Institute for Advanced Study
2013 James P. Tam Nanyang Technological University, Singapore
2011 Richard DiMarchi Indiana University
2009 Stephen B.H. Kent University of Chicago
2007 Isabella Karle Naval Research Laboratory, D.C.
2005 Richard A. Houghten Torrey Pines Institute for Molecular Studies
2003 William F. DeGrado University of Pennsylvania
2001 Garland R. Marshall Washington University Medical School, St. Louis
1999 Daniel H. Rich University of Wisconsin, Madison
1997 Shumpei Sakakibara Peptide Institute, Inc.
1995 John M. Stewart University of Colorado, Denver
1993 Victor J. Hruby University of Arizona
1991 Daniel F. Veber Merck Sharp & Dohme
1989 Murray Goodman University of California, San Diego
1987 Choh Hao Li University of California, San Francisco
1985 Robert Schwyzer Swiss Federal Institute of Technology
1983 Ralph F. Hirschmann Merck Sharp & Dohme
1981 Klaus Hofmann University of Pittsburgh, School of Medicine
1979 Bruce Merrifield The Rockefeller University
1977 Miklos Bodanszky Case Western Reserve University

Previously, the Alan E. Pierce Award sponsored by the Pierce Chemical Company (1977-1995). The Merrifield Award was established in 1997 by an endowment from Rao Makineni.